Where There’s a Will, There’s a Way: The Mental Health System After Dark

January 16th, 2015

At first I thought I wanted to be alone, but now I can’t get enough of people. I have a frantic, indescribable urge to be with people and share and listen. Talk about whatever, not all this stuff that’s killing me.

Sometimes I’m in a state where if the timing is right, I would talk about the reality that isn’t reality.

I tried to get help tonight… started running to the ER then decided to drive. So, I got there and something took me over:  I had to touch peoples’ hair. I asked the receptionist nurse if I could touch her hair. She looked at me, and that was enough to answer my question. I restrained from asking anyone else. Told the receptionist nurse I didn’t want anyone touching my hair either.

Went back to triage… etc, etc. They told me it would be 2-1/2 hours before I could talk to a social worker. “This is happening now, not in 2-1/2 hours, please help me!” Sorry. Next.

Ran out of breath to my truck.  Got lost then realized, I just didn’t recognize my truck because someone had encased it in industrial saran wrap.  Of course they did. Even put a PVC pipe over my antenna so it wouldn’t break.  I walked around and around, unwrapping my truck.

Around and around. I thought of nothing.

Back on the road! Oh yes! The urgent-care-late-night-mental-health-place can help me!  I just need a human to talk to, and I think it should be a professional at this point.

In the waiting room, I decided to sit at the children’s table… found a Scooby Doo coloring book and devoured the story. I thought, “Yes! This makes so much sense!”

And all night it was the only thing that did.

saran wrap dress & wig

Saran-Wrap-Wig effects

Leave a Reply

