Extreme Ironing

Extreme ironing is “the latest danger sport that combines the thrills of an extreme outdoor activity with the satisfaction of a well-pressed shirt.”

Lacking the adventurous outdoor skills typical of Extreme Ironing, I adopted my own take on the art form… a gentler, more urban take.  I took it on the road… to cornfields, rivers and abandoned buildings.  It was sublime.  It was absurd.  It was magnificent.

I painted my iron gold, and carried it like a trophy.  I kept both my board and iron in the car, should I become compelled.  It was really a solitary practice… but also one that required some photographic documentation.

Nobody seemed to mind, that I ironed in the produce section.  I was never questioned, never approached.  Perhaps I was so at peace, that I blended into the scene… that I belonged.

I don’t quite remember how it all started, or how it was put to rest.  I was a young woman, iron in hand, gently swaying… perhaps a bit lonely, a bit manic, or both.

 

 

Extreme Ironing 026-m

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extreme_ironing

One thought on “Extreme Ironing

  1. I was surprised this morning to find my blog had been nominated for a Lieber Award. I had no idea what that meant, but it seems if you’re nominated, you’ve already won!

    The idea is to recognize notable blogs, increase their visibility and spread the “love” from blogger to blogger.

    So, you are one of my 5 nominees. If you choose to accept this (symbolic) award, check out my latest posting: http://keepingsane.com/

    Love the extreme ironing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

